Second Skin: Ideation of Basic Unit

Oct 13//

For this project, I wanted to make something flexible and modular. I really like the concept of transforming states, so for this second skin I wanted the user to be able to adapt it as they liked.

I drew inspiration from charm bracelets, but expanded the idea to a 2D grid, with pieces that can snap on into the grid to create interesting shapes and patterns.

pieces

Below are two simple variations to demonstrate difference states, and you can also see what the back looks like. Not only can there be variation in moving the blocks around, when designing the blocks to print, there can be simple patterns etched into the flat surface of the block.

After printing this quick base, it opened up a lot of issues for me to consider for my next step:

– the tolerance needs to be figured out; right now the grid can crack a little bit when the block is pushed in

– there’s a slight curvature when the blocks are inserted

– there’s a chance blocks might still fall out

 

Leave a comment